I make terrible distillate....why?

I’ve been (trying) to make distillate for years, but everything I make just comes out dark, and reddish, like dark rum coloured.

Basically I think I’m an idiot an unable to do this right.

I start with my BHO, and put it into ethanol (10:1) stick it in the freezer then filter the next day through Summits stage one filters.

Back into the freezer again, and then I’ll filter through stage 2 and 3.

Once that filtering is done I do a carbon scrub then rotovap and distill.

but even after the carbon the ethanol/BHO is super dark (dark rum coloured) and has a red tint to it.

When distilling it ends up taking about 6 hours and even the distillate comes out dark, red and smelling like rubber.

yesterday I tried using bentonite after the 3rd stage filtering and before the carbon…and still no god damn change…it still looks just as dark but maybe MAYBE just slightly more clear.

Can anybody help identify wtf I’ve been doing wrong for 3 years?!!?

I have videos on my youtube channel if anyone wants to take a look and maybe identify any of the things I’m doing wrong or ways to improve. That’s the whole reason I started the channel and posting vids, but that hasn’t helped thusly. It’s MedEx Cannabis Lab on YouTube.

12 Likes

Your videos were the base for my first distillation. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched your videos before I attempted this. Thanks.

What I noticed about what you do. Is you vacuum levels are always pretty high when you start. I didn’t hear you mention about decarbing your oil either.

Welcome buddy. Thanks a ton for YouTube channel. I hope you figure this out.

24 Likes

I am an extreme newb to disty here but I just checked out a vid of one of your runs. Your SPD head appears to be flooding or overcome with crude. Are you running your SPD with too little vacuum and too high of heat?

6 Likes

Ahh, it’s BigJohnny from ICMAG Forums, I was just going to suggest you come over here for help.