Resources on commercial extraction procedures

Hi,

I was recently contacted by a friend who wishes to enter the CBD market, has potential investors, has experience growing marijuana, and is looking at a 200 acre plot of land he happened upon. He contacted me to handle the extraction side of it.

I’m an undergraduate chemistry student, however I know next to nothing about marijuana extraction (or indeed plant matter extraction at all). I recognize that we will have to hire consultants as this is beyond my scope of knowledge. However, I would like to learn as much as I can before hiring professionals so that we can have a fluent and productive conversation.

We are looking to product CBD distillate and isolate. As I mentioned earlier, we will be growing about 200 acres of hemp. However I expect that we will begin with a pilot grow, something like 10 acres (my partner mentioned something about having to do a pilot grow to check THC concentrations for compliance purposes?)

I have been looking online for the past couple days, however most of the resources I find online are brief overviews written for laypeople. I am looking for specific for end-to-end procedures aimed towards chemists. Where can I find more in depth information on the methodology from start to finish? Preferably a book or publication?

P.S. From what I have read so far, this will be the general outline of the procedure required:

First the hemp is dried and milled. I will leave this to my partner as he has experience with this.

The biomass will then be placed into a closed-loop butane/propane extractor. As far as I understand, this seems to be the best method in terms of least post-processing. The downside being it’s harder to scale. We were looking at Precision Extraction’s multisolvent extractors (X10 or X40?) so that we may switch to ethanol if required for scaling.