Optimizing Processes with Engineering Fundamentals

Hi Everyone,

Given the vast permutations of processes that exist so far in this industry and the relative infancy of our empirical understanding of them, I feel like an engineering perspective could really cut through the fat and allow individuals to make more effective and appropriate decisions when it comes to making process decisions.

For example, I want to buy a condenser for solvent recovery. I want the unit to be able to recover 100 gallons / hour of ethanol (or hexane, or whatever)…what steps do I take to ensure I’m procuring the best possible unit for my operation? What preliminary calculations can I make to narrow my choices? How can I alter some operating constraints to optimize my use of electricity and cooling water (in this case)?

Welp, i’m a chemical engineer in a non-legal state, so the only way I can contribute is by sharing my engineering knowledge in any way I can. I’m not a consultant, I don’t expect any compensation, I just want to expand my knowledge and apply it in a useful way.

All that being said, does anyone have any questions about how to optimize their process?

Also, I work in validation if anyone has questions about SOP design and GMP. :slight_smile:

24 Likes

If I have 10c well water flowing at 10lpm, how much surface area do I need to condense 378lpm of ethanol vapor?

2 Likes

There are several details here that can drastically alter the calculations. First, we can either assume that the ethanol vapor entering the condenser is at its boiling point or needs to be cooled to its boiling point before it can condense. Next, will we be running at atmospheric pressure or at vacuum.

I have taken the liberty of assuming that the condenser duty is calculated for condensing ethanol at its boiling point and at atmospheric pressure. This simplifies things.

Now, calculate the heat required to condense the gaseous ethanol:

Qdot = ndot*Hvap

Qdot = Heat Duty Required