My Arometrix Extraction Finder doesn't see 10mg/ml CBD isolate in Heptane

… but my grass (species unknown, possibly some sort of Fescue) has detectable levels of CBD and d9. Allegedly.

These tests were all performed in the same manner with the same equipment at the same time by the same operators. We ensured that the liquid fraction went directly over the sensor when put through the finder.

Trial 01 - CBD Isolate in Heptane - Arometrix saw zero cannabinoids

Arometrix Trial 02 - Grass in Isopropyl alcohol - lots of chlorophyll, minor cannabinoid peaks

Arometrix Trial 03 - Grass in Isopropyl alcohol - lots of chlorophyll, minor cannabinoid peaks

Arometrix Trial 04 - Therapeutic rag? - major cannabinoid peaks [this was just for fun, don’t pile on Arometrix for this one]

Arometrix Trial 05 - CBD Isolate in Heptane - zero cannabinoids

This article by Arometrix suggests that pure lab standards were detected similarly to what they saw from distillation data. I’m not an expert in this technology so I’ll refrain from comment on what that means relative to the data I just collected.

What does this mean?

It means that I have zero evidence that the Arometrix unit is actually detecting cannabinoids. It looks like it’s detecting pigments or something else that is generally co-extracted with the cannabinoids.

I don’t have any data on fats and waxes, yet.

It definitely looks like it sees chlorophyll.

So, if you’re not extracting the pigments that it’s looking for, you’re not going to see your cannabinoids.

Hypothesis:
If you extract two types of material that have differing pigment content but identical cannabinoid content, you may see wildly different results from the Arometrix.

Does that mean it’s not a useful tool? No.

But it sure looks to me that it doesn’t actually measure cannabinoids.

@cyclopath @AlexSiegel @Photon_noir

18 Likes

Yikes! By the way, grass extract made me lol.

13 Likes

Nice trials!