Newbie Equipment Question

Hey everyone, new member here. I’m hoping some veteran members here can help me out.

I have zero experience in solvent extractions of any kind, however I know they can be dangerous, especially to the ignorant. My family and I have a patient grow in a legal state and have been saving all our trim (no leaves/stems) and larf and keeping it cured. I’m interested in producing bho dabs for medicine. I’d be wanting to run 3-4lbs of said material every 3-4 months. I don’t have a preference on the consistency (wax, shatter, baddar, etc). But I would like safe equipment that’s relatively easy to use or learn to use. Bonus points if there’s an ability to finance it, but not necessary.

What equipment would I need given the above information, and are there any specific brands you’d recommend or ones that I should avoid.

2 Likes

Your in the right place.

@Killa12345 can get you squared away with equipment

2 Likes

Welcome.

Before you go buying stuff, spend some more time reading and researching your options. This site and most of its membership are a real goldmine of information. Although your volume isnt large, if you keep at it, over time investing in ability to recover your solvent will pay for itself. If you go CLS route, I would just get a 1LB column. More batches can give you oppoetunity to learn, dial in your technique, try different stuff.

Here are a few threads you should read before making a purchase:

Outside of Rotovap cost, there are some advantages to ethanol. Check this thread out where TheLostBiologist lays out his Bucket Tek SOP:

If that seems interesting, you may also enjoy

But even if you like the ethanol approach, you should absolutely check out OTSS diamond thread

6 Likes

Those are excellent links! That’s a veritable crash course right there. :spoon:

1 Like

If it’s indoor you don’t want to extract with ethanol. Go butane