The fake willbilly here with some gummie questions

Whats up yall, as stated Im not the blue rocks willbilly that some confuse me for. I have been working with a local chef making full spectrum CBD gummies for about a year now.The past 6 months weve been using distillate. Before we were using a in house made RSO. While we have achieved potency, we have the occasional “hot” gummy. Or super strong gummy. Most folks find this ok or “fun” but some people its just too much. These are very strong, 135mg a piece , and that is what my customer base seems to want and need, as 95% are using them for sleep. So when one is “hot” it is very strong.These are pectin and fruit based, with no Corn syrup. What I’m hoping for is some direction as to how we can achieve the most consistent product possible. Is there a tool or emulsifier im not aware of? Another thread with hidden gems? Im a small farmer owned operation, and for many reasons I cant afford to buy SOP’s at suit prices , nor does it feel right to buy an SOP. This a proprietary gummy recipe the chef made, and the goal is to stay away from corn syrup.

Im not looking for the flat out answer, but perhaps bread crumbs that will lead me down the right path.

5 Likes

Are you using a homogenizer? If not you should be

7 Likes

135mg gummies, wow. How big are they? Anything I’ve whipped up with 50mg or more has been really bitter… but they are only 2ml gummies.

1 Like

Does a sheer homogenizer work with hot pectin? Personally, for small batches I just add the oil with the food coloring so I have a visual indicator when it’s good. I also typically only make 10 to 20 mg gummies though

6 Likes

That’s an awesome idea

When are you adding the extract into the mix? Obviously you don’t want to convert everything with too much heat for too long, but you can certainly it add a little before the end and whisk everything really well for a few minutes as it get’s to your final temp/brix.