Pull N' Snap

I am new to extracts, very new. I have consistently made pull n snap shatter while extracting BHO and turning it into oil but the people who taught me and sparked my interest they cook their BHO at high temps ie hot plate under a SS vacuum pot then after the vacuum purge they leave it on the woodstove top until there is NO BUBBLES at all, other than tiny little CO² bubbles if you heat it when it’s in a fiver vile with a torch so I have no references or way of determining if when I make the pull and snap it’s clean or not because they tell me if it still bubbles it’s dirty and I read everywhere that terps bubble, other biomass in the extract bubbles, so I’m confused does BHO always bubble even when the tane is gone? How do I know what to look for? What is the indicator tane is gone? Can I rely on the bubbles? Am I removing the tane and the bubble are not tane? I need help… I really wanna make pull n’ snap shatter consistently.

3 Likes

Lab testing helps for that, and shatter turns to wax at 0ppm from my experience.

2 days at 90f
1day at 87f
1 day at 85f
All under full vacuum will get you where you wanna be.
Flip the slabs once daily.
Then bump the temp to 97f release vac to half, once temp has reached you can turn off the heat and it turns to Swiss cheese over the next couple hours.

One way to skin the :cat2:

6 Likes

You tagged this post “bubble-hash”. Removed it as irrelevant

See: Dry Sift, Kief, Hash & Bubble?

Your mentors are misinformed…

dangerously so? Maybe (Don’t know what else you’ve picked up from them…).

vacuum first sounds safe enough… just not great for your oil

See: Don’t put extract on your stove

You’re loosing terpenes, and probably (partially) decarbing, along with oxidizing and darkening your product.

Only way to know is to test.

4 Likes

Thank you, I’ll try to make sure the tags are correct next time this is my first day.