Other states joining the "fight" against hemp products

I know I have been talking about the legislative backlash that I have been expecting since around 2020 when all these novel products started coming out across the country from hemp manufacturers trying to make money back from all their investments in CBD.

I posted a big one for Missouri and I’ve already been talking about what is happening in California - since there A LOT of facilities in both of those states.

But other states are getting on this bandwagon as well. So if you are running a hemp operation - you should be actively lobbying to stop these measures OR planning to more your operations to states that do not have these rules.

Louisiana, Illinois, Mississippi, and Florida (oof…they are so hardcore in Florida! The bill passed last year and enforcement has already started strong!) have all introduced legislation or passed it to stem the tide of the intoxicating hemp products from their states. In many cases - they are allowing products but with potency levels so low that I don’t know what customer would want to consume them. In other cases - they are moving to disallow all hemp products unless they are part of the licensed medical market.

So you know - decide where your line in the sand is and get engaged with the legislative process.

Or don’t and everyone who is will decide for you. :wink:

4 Likes

Texas is also doing rulemaking, comments closed 4/22

2 Likes

Thanks for posting this. I object to hemp companies “trying to recoup costs.” They gave the customer what they wanted. It’s weird to see how the hemp industry is viewed. Lol

Definitely weird - and I’m 100% sharing with everyone the conversation is stark. If you are not in the room then you are being sold down the river. Licensed operators and prohibitionists banding together so that you cannot compete with them or make your product accessible.