New and starting with SPD

Hello everyone,

I am new on this forum and got directed here as a starting point on SPD.

English is not my native langauge, i am Dutch actually, so forgive my grammer and spelling errors :slight_smile: I am a cancer patient and been growing my own cannabis for the last 12 years.

So i have some experience with how to make an extraction with alcohol and use a rotovap to turn in into RSO, but i want ofcourse the honey oil and terpenes.

I have some basic understanding on how distillation works, but nowhere near academics level.

This topic was created with the hope i can find help from this community on my SPD journey and learn this craft step by step.

There are some science forums in my native langauge, but the community does not allow help for cannabis related questions.

So bassicly i have some money and time to invest and want to spend that on SPD and i guess the first thing to do is buy a SPD distillation kit.

I guess like many others, getting a kit from China is -budget wise- the best option for a beginner, or is that wasted money and should i immidiatly invest in something more pro?

Apart from that, are there any text’s that guide you step by step to preform SPD, that anyone knows of? Any other tips, must reads, etc?

I have zero knowledge on this, but must start somewhere :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Hi there , im a newbie too , my advice would be to first determine how much crude you will be running at any one time , then buy the setup from there.

my friend bought a 5L Setup complete from china and although it looks good , it was way too big from what we needed so to process a kilo of bud will produce say 250ml of crude which wil onkly require a 500ml boiling flask , so we had to purchase one of them .

id also say do lots of research , i have been reading this forum for weeks looking for tips and im hoping to do my first SPD run on sunday . just tryng to learn a bit more and finish off setting up kit .