Need 0.2 micron filtration for CLS

Looking to source a 0.2 micron filter (sintered plate of some sort) to be installed on a CLS for filtering the extract-laden solvent prior to solvent recovery. The biomass is know to be contaminated with fungal spores and we would like to have the assurance that we have past the extract through a filter of a sufficiently small size to remove spores.

I see a few on various sites (Utah Biodiesel, etc.) but would prefer a supplier with a little more focus on food/pharma grade processing. Also, anything I’ve found seems to have a 4-5 week lead time.

If I’m not mistake can get rid of spores (usually between 1-20 micron) however it’s much more difficult to filter out mycotoxins due there particle size being smaller than .1 micron

I’m no scientist. Just what I have read and seen discussed here before.

Some food for thought is all

Someone please correct me if this is wrong.

2 Likes

They told us that neither our CRC absorbents nor the 5 micron filter they are supported on provide sufficient filtration. The 0.45um and 0.22um syringe tip filters are commonly used in the kind of labs where these state employed environmental scientists likely trained. I think if I tell them I’m filtering at 0.2 um they will be happy. The material did not test positive for mycotoxins, just for the microbe itself. It is not our goal to remove mycotoxins via filtration.

1 Like

https://www.gochemtek.com/custom/22-sintered-filter

People are running these in a spool, they have double ended npt tri clamp ends too.

I swear people are running them backwards though

8 Likes

I believe @Dred_pirate recommend this in an older thread?

https://www.arborfab.com/6inSinteredMediaFilteringDisc

4 Likes

Homie said he didn’t like those one I think. Wanted an alternative.

(arborfab I think makes the utah biodisel ones)

1 Like

You can also get pall filter housings too.

@Soxhlet makes filter housings as well, plenty of options if you look.

1 Like