Intentionally making D8 with many (relevant) impurities

Hey all,

I’m new to cannabis science but have lots of experience with CPC and am trying to develop an economically viable separation that yields pure d8. I am looking for reaction conditions that provide a messy d8 mixture so I can use it as a starting point challenge. I will be getting my hands on a distillate soon and (almost) have a fully functioning lab, but only understand the underlying theory of the conversions. It seems most posts here are trying to get clean conversion to d8, but nobody reports their procedures for making “less-than-ideal” mixtures.

I found the recent Journal of Natural Products post that seems to suggest dichloromethane with camphorsulfonic acid is good for the one to one mix of d8 and d9, so that will be my first foray, but I’d like to develop a separation that can deal with any possible d8-dominant input material.

So I guess what I am saying is can anyone provide procedures that will reliably/reproducibly give me decent yields of d8 with various impurities? The greater variety of selectivities, the better! I’ll gladly talk shop about CPC in exchange for any interested parties.

5 Likes

We have discussed trying to find the worst possible products before

Muriatic acid produces a lot of unknowns

4 Likes

one should always strive to make the purest product possible, but in the name of science ill tell you what not to do.

1. forgo any inerting, run your reaction “open” to the atmosphere.
  2. use a very strong acid, Muriatic was mentioned, and it yields pretty nasty stuff. Sulfuric, or HCL would also be good contenders, especially when you don’t take additional post and pre processing steps to ensure a clean reaction.
  3. dont wash your material post reaction
  4. dont filter your material post reaction