Distilling Rosin? Yeah?

Greetings y’all! I’m gonna sound like a broken record so it seems. I’ll start off by saying I’ve been here only a few days and already I have been inundated by the wealth of information. You guys truly are some lovely chaps. With that being said, I do enjoy a good roast.

So fire at will if you do see fit.

My question is this. I’ve been pressing Rosin for a few months now and have been trying to get it to vape well in a cartridge. (broken record part) Given all of your expertise, would it be wise/unwise to distill Rosin in order to rid it of fats and waxes that may not be vape friendly? Is distilling Rosin redundant? Inefficient? I’m at a loss! I’m about 1/2lb of raw flower deep with no positive results. D:

I’m hoping distillation will be my savior, but if I’m in the wrong place just point me in the right direction.

Thanks ahead lads,

Loucephur

2 Likes

Have you tried placing in a jar and heating close to decarb temp for a little while?
I THINK it’s 20 min, and about 90c…but def do some research.
Serxh "making rosin carts’

4 Likes

Press the terps and fats out and then melt the diamonds. Shortpath the terp/fat mix to pull your volatiles. Add the volatiles back to the isolate and homogenize

2 Likes

Thanks for the swift response @qma when you say press the terps and fats out, do you mean I can simply press them out of the Rosin I’ve already pressed? Or I’d have to start from fresh flower? At any rate, by your comment, if I want to remain solventless I will still need to distill the terps from the fats. Can you recommend an economic homogenizer? One that gets the job done? I was lured into two different magnetic stirrers before realizing they’re hardly useful.

Thanks again for your thoughts!

Stop with the rosin if your desired outcome is carts. Extract with alcohol. Winterize. Deterp, decarb and distill.

15 Likes