Distillate shipment gone awry

Hello all-

Forgive my naivety here posting as I’m relatively new to the forum here, but have searched ad nauseum for something relevant posted and could not find anything.

I’m currently a lab tech in an extraction room in a newly(ish) rec legal state. Recently, we bought a large order of distillate. When we received said order of distillate, something like 15 or so liters of said distillate arrived in broken liter jars. You could imagine the mess, little glass shards mixed in with an obnoxious amount of disty, not a fun clean up. The tainted disty was mixed with ethanol and subsequently ran through a large buchner in several batches to remove the glass, now being ran through a rotovap in order to remove the ethanol from the disty.

As the “final product” disty has been removed from the rotovap and let sit for a few days as this is my life for the foreseeable future, I’m noticing the consistency isn’t getting to a point close to what it was prior to mixing with ethanol, and the color has changed to a significantly darker shade. I’m also noticing a slight, slight odor of ethanol still after removal of the disty from the rotovap. Is this normal? Should I be concerned/thinking about running the materials through the machine again?

I’m running a 5L rotovap. Water bath is set at 55C. High 40s low 50s RPM rotor speed. Cooling pump set to -13.5C and generally fluctuates 5 or so degrees under after it hits it’s set point. MPa is at a constant -.09
The first two batches were ran for a hair more than an hour, since then I’ve been going closer to an hour and a half to an hour forty five.

Any insight or advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Needs to be re-distilled, you’ll never get it back to the same color with a roto. You’re ethanol % is probably not passing either. EtOH affects distillate color when left in solution for appreciable amounts of time.

16 Likes