Working with spinning band distillation mashine to produce delta 9 THC

Hello Mates,

i am very new in this kind of forum. English is not my mother tongue so please excuse my english :smiley: .
I want to work with a spinning band distillation system to seperate THC from other cannabinoids like CBD and CBN. The Extract, which i would use is an decarboxylatet, winterized and filtratet ethanol extract. The extrakt was degased (removing from ethanol, terpenes etc.) and distillated in a wiped film distalltion system before. The THC content in this Extract is about 60 to 80 %.

I have read that in spinning band systems you have to use a very fast rotation speed like 1500 rpm (or more?) and a very high vacuum like 0,1 to 0,01 mbar. I would use a temperature between 140 to 180 Ā°C in the magnetic heating stirrer in the spinnind band system. I would heat the cool trap to -30Ā°C.

I have a Huber thermostate, a heidolph magnetic stirrer and a vacuubrand vacuum pump.

I just want to ask if anyone has expierience with the parameters (pressure, temperature, rotation speed, return ratio of condensate back into the spinning band column).

Thank you in advance for your help.

1 Like

Spinning Band columns are so rare, youā€™re going to have a hard time finding someone who knows how to operate one. Just last week was the first time in almost 20 years Iā€™ve seen one for sale on ebay!

1 Like

I know a guy who is all about spinning band machines. I was just talking to him yesterday .Heā€™s world class and operates in many countries. He was actually laughing and chuckling to me how old the info is old on this site. Depends who you know. Some people only work with spinning bands and they travel the world installing them and nothing else. Perhaps they are rarer birds to find. Msg me and perhaps I can put you in touch with my friend. He would want some sort of a consult fee though I imagine. Very friendly guy though.

1 Like