Wiped Film Temps

Hey guys, I’m pretty new at the business and only started distilling this year with a 5L short path. I’ve boosted up to a homemade wiped film and its pretty great but still cant get my temps down. All my material has had the terps removed in the short path but I’m still having trouble separating my fractions, mainly THC, CBD, and CBN I can get my vac down to 110-140 microns but still seeing red distillate around past 150c any idea for correct temps? Thanks

1 Like

THC and CBD have very simliar boiling points. You would have to go a very different route if you wanted to seperate your THC and CBD fractions. As for the color issue, you most likely just ran some old oxidized material. I would search for the VTA parameters on here and tweak your wiped film from there. Best of luck to you. The community is great here and there is plenty to learn using the searchbar.

8 Likes

Hey welcome you two! Super helpful, well thought out first post @SuperKamiGuru! Hey good on you for only distilling on a batch system for a year and earning enough to step up to a continuous one, quite the feat @Jaymayne88! Enjoy our forum thanks for coming!

5 Likes

@SuperKamiGuru is correct, you should not hope to separate cannabinoids from cannabinoids via distillation, boiling points are way too similar (and i’ve always suspected they exist as an azeotrope)

the red nature of your distillate i’d also agree, most likely old material, or material that had already been extracted once, OR you’re not getting a deep enough vac. wondering if you’re using diffusion? where i operate we get around .01 to .001 mBAR, which is around 1 micron–possibly your weak vac level is preventing good separation of fractions? either way a deeper vac would help you–you could run faster, get better separate of fractions, etc.