Wipe Film distillation (POPE)

Hello Everyone!

My name is Billie Jo, I am a Lab technician within a THC extraction & manufacturing Laboratory. I have three year experience working with CBD Cannabis oil, from growing our crop to running a short path AI distillation unit. In the last year I have started working with THC Cannabis and working with some updated equipment. During the past few months of trying to dial in my method and feel I could really use some advice from like minded people.

Ethanol extraction- Testing at 79% thc/ 88% cannabinoids

We are running material for 10 mins in a centrifuge @ -22C with ethanol @ -45C, to Filtration running through Charcoal, DE, and 2um Paper filter, to a 20L Roto Evaporator ( WB @ 50C, at 90RPM’s and as much vac as possible without over heating the chiller), then to Decarb station (heating to 90C for 1 hour or until no bubble appear to remove remaining ethanol before going into a wipe film distillation unit.

I know these are not bad test numbers, my concern is the remaining 10-12% of plant matter and not knowing how to get this out of the crude.

Decarb question: during decarb after roto evaporator, the fluffing is always something i seem to fight on THC or CBD oil, is there any good way to do this without making so many dishes or messes. Haha

Any and all advice would be amazing and very helpful thank you!

1 Like

Decarb in a sealed vessel.

Also: What does any of this have to do with the title of this thread? You didn’t mention wiped film stuff at all.

2 Likes