Winterization Optimization

Hi everyone!

First off just want to say thank all of you who are posting, I am new to this forum and been quietly watching for about a month, and I have learned an insane amount from you all. I love reading this forum and watching the stigma of the “lazy stupid stoner” being absolutely smashed by the work everyone is doing. So many self taught organic chemist here, and its amazing!

So I am here to ask some questions about our winterization process and get some input on how we are doing and any optimization tips you guys may have.

We are decarbing our material and then placing it into a CO2 SFE system for extraction to get our crude oil. The main process I am inquiring about is the ethanol step and possible ways to lower the allotted time for this process and potentially even find some better steps to take over the process.

Steps

1. collected crude oil from collection vessels and take work station to be weighed
  2. Heat ethanol to 60C.
  3. Mix ethanol with crude oil to achieve a 5:1 ratio of ethanol to crude and place in stirring bar until mixture in homogeneous.
  4. After mixture is homogeneous, add -20C cooled ethanol into mixture to achieve a 10:1 ratio of ethanol to crude.
  5. Place in -20 cooler for 24 hours before filtering and repeat the filter process after another 24 hours of -20C cooling.

After this our crude is seemingly free of most, if not all waxes and lipids. We have been getting decent THC percentages in the mid to low 70’s on the refined crude and are expecting even better on the distillate.

Some questions I have
-According to our methods we are suppose to run a 3rd filtration after a 48 hour -20 cooling but the crude after the 2nd time seems to not need it. Is this a big issue, or is it just affecting our final THC percentages? Everything is going to be turned into distillate so I feel a third is unneeded but I may be wrong.