What does this even mean (laminar path)

I saw summit say he had laminar path? I’m not a chemical engineer, but I talked to my friend for a while about what this could possibly mean. What part of the process would that even refer to? And from what I have read and learned about laminar path is the following:

-More relevant to liquids
-Is generally inferior to turbulent flow anyways unless there is a diffusion process occuring

Did some napkin calculations and it seems highly unlikely he is talking about the actual distillation. I don’t doubt he is just lying yet another time. “Laminar Path” makes it sound like sticking “quantum” in front of some other word to sound more intelligent.

7 Likes

I talked to photon noir about it and he said that the use of laminar is a sales gimmick. It is still referring to turbulent flow. He uses laminar to refer to hard pipe connection instead of hose, pretty much.

5 Likes

You can use a smoke bomb to see if the flow is turbulent or laminar. Maybe a fat bong hit would do the same? I could see why laminar flow would be better, and bigger straighter pipes would be more laminar.

2 Likes

I’ve been thinking about that terminology. It is half truth half sales gimmick. He really just means high vapor flow. It is somewhat laminar until it hits that Graham condenser thing, where it becomes turbulent. If you do the right setup the flow is laminar at certain points, you can actually observe this when the vapors are visible.

So in (my) conclusion, it just means “high flow rate” the way it is being used by Summit.

EDIT: The relevant question is: is there some kind of advantage to the “laminar flow setup”? Basically it would be an increased speed of boiling off vapors, and a better and more even vacuum depth. There is less stuff in the way for vapors to evacuate.

images%20(3)

16 Likes