The good, the bad, and the ugly of Chinese lab hardware

This thread is for talking about the good Chinese lab hardware you have personally used as well as the bad hardware you’ve used. I’ll start and im sure there will be plenty of edits as i remember the glory and horror stories that i have on this stuff over the years.

The Good:

• I’ve been running AI mantles for a few years now both 5l and 20l. Ive never had any issues with either size mantle and they were used 5-6 days a week

• I’ve ran an AI T-40 mechanical cold trap for years 5-6 days a week and never had a single issue with it

• I’ve never had an issue with appropriately sized Welch RV pumps @spdking says they are rebranded Chinese pumps *edit he explained down post they are a not chinese i got that wrong

• For the price These bottling machines are a god send for people starting tincture brands

• These water aspirator pumps have kept many rotos going for me especially if you can keep the water cold

The Bad:

• Every cheap Chinese vacuum flask i have bought has broken under vac while filtering out of a -20c freezer

• Had a chinese chiller for a roto leak some fluids onto an electronic component inside the chiller and it could have caused a fire for-sure

• Every cheap Chinese SPD i’ve encountered has a problem of endless leaks which makes you wish the roto chiller exploded and ended your suffering

4 Likes

The good: it’s cheap

The bad: it’s cheap for a reason

The ugly: that’s a fake asme stamp and your engineer won’t approve it/your wook lit himself and your facility on fire

2 Likes

You have any specific hardware you had good or bad experiences with?

1 Like