THC-o Acetate Time! Wtf did my buddy buy?!?!

Hey all,

Headys here, formerly @NorthCarolindica

A processing buddy of mine recently ordered a Kilo of THC-O acetate from a reputable CBD / D8 supplier. Against my advice, he dove deep into without getting a sample product in and assuming customers want it.

I have plenty of experience with other cannabinoids, but found out about acetate a few weeks ago. I am making this post to see if anyone can answer any questions i have about it and tell me more about wtf this guy purchased!

The biggest red flag to me is the lab test that came with it. It says 1% d8 distallate and ND for every other cannabinoid tested.
I guess my first question here would be how hard is it to test for THC-o right now? Is it difficult but possible or only available at a few experienced labs kind of difficult? The COA looks EXTREMELY shady to me

Going off of that, this mystery distillate is pretty unique but also throws off another red flag to me. This oil is clear and transluscent and refracts the light in a much more distorted way than the kilos of d8 i have handled. However, in the video following this paragraph you can see that the oil has an incredibly low viscocity. It moves instantly and when inside a cartridge flows like a vape juice. Incredibly thin, which follows up to my next question,

What should the consistency of THC-o be like? Thick and firm like d8, or runny like CBC?
The consistency is like a cross between runny but maleable mother liquor i have handled and runny CBC.

Now, I have personally tried the oil. I dabbed it straight up when I got there and noticed a very nice and calming effect set in 20 minutes after, and felt really nice and chilled out with a decent buzz 30 minutes in. I have been mixing it with wax and i do notice that it enhances the effects over time. It seems to have THC-o in it from what i am experiencing, but not sure of the overall concentration.

4 Likes

In my unprofessional opinion: