SPD basics

What happens when a SPD is done on oil that has not been winterized or fully decarbed?
I am new to SPD and need all the help I can get.

1 Like

Non-decarbed has potential to bump and blow oil through your whole system

Non-winterized has a lot of contaminants will come out discolored/dark and requires more passes reach a level of quality expected in today’s markets

1 Like

filter and decarb before SPD. you need to dial in your vac depth and process and that will help immensely. you need to make sure you’re setting up your equipment right, your equipment is running right, and your vac depth is appropriate.

Hi Rowan
Thanks for your response. The distillate has actually come out fairly clean. There is a bit of a red line that has formed on top of the distillate.NG Isolate|666x500

Hi NorCal
Thanks for your response. Clearly I will be winterizing and fully decarbing in the future. I am having lots of fun with this. I feel like a bit of a school boy chemist. :nerd_face:

Hey Rowan.
I am using butane as my solvent. I notice that everyone uses ethanol to do the winterizing. Do you know if it is possible to winterize in the butane?

Depending on your extraction perameters you may not need to winterize at all

I understand some of this. What my strategy is, is to freeze the wet plant and do an double extraction at -40 degrees, then to dry the bud and do a third extraction after the bud has been ground.
Does this make sense?

I suggest filtering and decarbing fully before hand because, if done properly, the oil will be more of a control and less a variable. which will help you dial in your SPD method. that way in the future you know what is going on with your equipment/process as you experiment with new tech. for example, non decarbed oil can react in a number of ways depending on exactly how volatile it is, which is typically different batch by batch.

1 Like