Simple Winterization SOP

I’m going to be posting a new SOP every week on our blog! Please check it out. We look forward to any and all feedback.

https://www.grmlabs.com/blog/winterization-101

21 Likes

Great write up s :clap::clap::pray:

3 Likes

awesome

1 Like

Awesome write up! thanks for sharing!

I think one thing may need cleared up for less experiences users,

"Step 2: Primary filtration

Using a buchner funnel, insert into the funnel a 1/2 in layer of Celite or Diatomaceous Earth (DE). With the filtration layer added, run your solution through the funnel."

I would add put in a filter paper then the 1/2 layer of Celite or DE

2 Likes

Thank you sir, definitely an oversight.

3 Likes

Good job, ive been using methanol for a few yrs and it is the best for winterizing. I only do 1 cold filtering down to 1 micron.

5 Likes

no no thank you!

1 Like

Is a 1/2" layer of Celite or DE enough for filtering large volumes material? Is there a point where the filter media needs to be replaced?

Thats all dependent on diameter of filtering surface and also what you consider a large volume, but usually you would replace the bed of DE every run.

Heres an updated link to the blog above.

https://www.grmlabs.com/post/winterization-101

I’m not sure if this is the correct place to ask, but is there anything you can do during the winterization step to also filter out the chlorophyll that might have passed through??

Sorry if this isn’t the correct place - I’m new here, and if this isn’t the right place I’d appreciate any pointers!

Yes there is something you can do about that!

If you hit the search bar you can find plenty of threads on it.

How are you currently winterizing? You could probably implement some of those techniques to remove chlorophyll during your winterization process

3 Likes

Currently I am decarbing, then washing, then I winterize over night in the freezer.