Shatter is auto buttering

Is there anything i can donwith shatter that is begining to auto butter? About half of my slabs are buttering and i just dont want to waste it. Can i turn it into suger or something like that? It is super terpy and wouldnt get stable. Just looking for some advise. Im new to extraction in a cls. Can some one point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

In some instances you can hit it with a heat gun and temper it like hard candy, but will give it a glossy look, if it’s terpy enough it’ll resugar given enough time.

4 Likes

Are you winterizing/dewaxing?

2 Likes

No i am doing semi cold blast. Probably around -10c.

1 Like

After my pour i could not get it to muffin like usual. I assummed it was due to the terpenes being so abundant. It has a great smell. Just never would get to the shatter consistency. I tried the hot/cold/hot/cold method to try and get it there but it just auto buttered instead.

1 Like

Call it a feature.

Shatter is for the uneducated masses.

If you lose the terps, you can achieve shatter, but wtf would you throw terpenes away to make an inferior product?

Because it’s what your customers want?

Educate them. One dab at a time if you must.

Edit: get on Leafly and look at the products available in mature markets (CA,OR,WA,CO). Look at the prices fetched by “shatter” compared to batter, or sugar, or crumble…you are deliberately trying to make sub-par product from something that is screaming at you to let it be something better.

19 Likes

Trust me i know this. I was instructed to make this product. Its just for people who prefer shatter. I am not in sales i am in production. I believe its more for range of products.

1 Like

I am just looking to see if there is anything else i can do with this as it is not sellable in this form. If i can change it to something else ie sugar, crumble, etc it would save me from trashing 200g of product.

Then educate the damn boss!