Setting up my closed loop extractor for first time?

Hi, I am new to closed loop systems, and I have just purchased a 90g cle from ebay. I bought a pressure gauge, yellow tape, jic hoses, a solvent recovery tank, r600 isobutane, and a vac pump with a manifold. I am currently having a problem getting my system to seal. I tightened all of the high pressure clamps down until the bolts squeeked like others have said and I cant keep a vacuum in my system for any longer than a couple of minutes. I do not have an air compressor, or dry ice to perform a pressure test and submerge it underwater. Should i just go buy an air compressor? Are there any tips that anyone can give me on sealing these things up? Im scared to overtighten the clamps, I dont want to bend the metal.

Another question i have been wondering is, How important is it to have a molecular sieve connected to my recovery? Will my butane be ruined after one run without using one? My goal for this week is to get this thing sealed up and to distill some butane. Thanks for any replies ahead of time! :smiley:

1 Like

Did you hand tighten the bolts? Use a cordless impact as long as there’s no butane loose in your environment. If the metal the extractor is made of is decent you’ll snap the heads off the bolts before you bend anything. If you snap a bolt replace them with grade 5 bolts and nuts.

How dry the material you’re running is will determine how long you can run without a molecular sieve. The drier the better.

5 Likes

Where did you sources this? I previously looked into it, and unless you get isobutane specifically meant for extraction, it may have a odorant added to it.

Edit: Isobutane vs Nbutane - #25 by cyclopath

There’s a thread where @cyclopath pointed this out.

3 Likes

You have a vice grip and a second wrench for tightening those threaded fittings?

2 Likes

I bought it from bvv. It was expensive but I now have more than I will ever need. It has no odor added

1 Like