Passive vs Active Systems

I have been using an active system (cmep) for over three years now. I am seeing talk about how much better passive systems can be (not just in cleanliness but also in recovery speeds) but it seems to me you have to have the proper chilling and tank system.

Is there a temperature threshold at which a passive system becomes more efficient than the active set-up?

1 Like

Having the proper hosing and cooling on your recovery/phase change is extremely important. You can get away with not having to cool your tank with so much energy, by using some form of heat exchange (condensing coil, tube and shell, whatever) to eat up that energy. But, you would still need to keep your tank extremely cold.

If you have a decent chiller, you can use that to keep cold and use a coil. If you have a smaller tank steady access to dry ice and at a reasonable rate, it won’t be too hard.

It’s not as easy with a carbon tank, easier done with two, but then you’re restricted to the opening on the valves and they don’t last long anyway. Having a SS tank with the appropriate valves and guages will help make it much easier.

3 Likes

How long do carbon tanks last before you gotta ditch 'em

A got a year out of mine before the valves started leaking, but I turn my tank upside down to run/ flood, they also rust on the inside after awhile

6 month’s to a year. I’ve broken the handles and valves on them in far less time though, from the cold

fuck mine are hitting a year in September. time to flood one tank, distill it to a new one and scrap these two

1 Like

Mine lasted 5 months before the valves started to leak.

@all how many times do you guys use them? I use mine once twice a month. … I store mine outside under my porch. They’ve gone thru new england weather… I dont have a detector but I have a spray bottle. I’ll spray the valves and check for leaks