Open Source Pre-Roll Packer

Hello Future peeps. I’ve been a member of this forum for about a year and reading for about 2. For the last 1.5 years, I’ve been slowly adding, modifying, and adding to my library of 3d printed pre-roll packer and I’m open sourcing it! I’ll start with my most current iteration, then do a bit of back-dating to show the process and the mistakes I’ve made along the way. I’ll upload all the part files, as I go and list general slicing settings (machines and filament differ a lot). Some of these are very refined designs and some are half assed as hell (you’ve been warned).

When I started, I was a synthetic chemist/material scientist with all of my work being in organic solar cells/LEDs and I had only smoked weed a handful of times. Needless to say, I didn’t know anything about this industry or cannabis in general. When I was looking for a job, I found a listing for ‘Ethanol Extraction Technician’ I decided to give it a try. I got the job and started learning and reading as much as I could since I was so inexperienced. Due to the sheer lack of information available, I had a really hard time, until I found this forum. While it all wasn’t good information, it was still unbelievably helpful. I wanted to give back to the place that taught me a lot. I didn’t have anything that was valuable, but this could be more valuable to more people.

17 Likes

Where can it be found for a test print!? Awesome.

1 Like

I’ll post them soon. Fuck it. I’m going to dump my purse rn and bring everything up to date.

3 Likes

OK. Here’s how the project got started.

Dec. 2020 ish
Some old managers bought a bunch of cordia palm leave and we had no way of packing them or even making pre-rolls for that matter. They got fired by my boss and I absorbed their jobs, but now I had to figure out how to do this shit. I had an ender 3 (cheapest functional 3d printer you can buy) and decided to design something for packing these blunts.