Open Source LCO2 Recapture System - A Community Effort?

So as opposed to just talking about a problem per the “Cooling With CO2” thread, here’s a thread to discuss and design a solution!

I’m no fabrication engineer, I know some of you are though.

I know we would need a pump to actively compress the gas into recovery tanks. Some valve assembly to switch tanks and whatnot.

I don’t want to say people should or shouldn’t do anything, but, there’s gotta be a “best” version of it that isn’t completely unbridled as far as environmental impact. This concept is just as important as the closed loop system, in fact, it is one!

Credit to @GroovyOctopusLabs for the idea.

6 Likes

If you draw it, it can be made.

My philosophy with creating manufacturing items. Prototyping? That can be made, but be ready for the fail rate to be 3+ prototypes until a functioning solution.

Your shitty scratch paper drawing can be turned into a blueprint for an autocad followed up by prototyped and patented product. If the proof of concept isn’t made yet, I’d figure out your initial drawing for prototype #1

2 Likes

I won’t have time until the weekend, I assure you though, I can make a halfway-not-shitty drawing that can be worked with.

1 Like

I can direct you to an autocad / solid works design, patent law office and manufacturers who do prototyping :slight_smile:

1 Like

I doubt I’ll be able to raise any capital until possible regulations are looming. I suppose taking as many steps as possible until then is a good option.

3 Likes

Breh if I could get the Canna Clamp crowd sourced on pre-orders and profiting with world wide distribution of a hair straightener that made dabs. I can make your fancier shenanigans a reality for labs.

3 Likes

Just a thought, maybe you could make dry ice out of the exhausted LCO2 also, maybe not useful in your scenario, maybe it is, seems easier, but I am not sure how dry ice is made.