Non Compete Agreement

The new lab I will be working for wants me to sign a non compete/ non solicitation agreement which cover the time I’m there plus 1 year after. I assume this is pretty standard practice, for making $15 an hour if I find a better job in the industry I’d like to move up. Could this be a hindrance?

Depends where they’re located & where the non compete form came from.(state wise)

2 Likes

Any business activity which competes with the Company within the state of Nevada.

1 Like

I’ve asked the same question. I’ve never once seen one enforced. I’ve been told in the past by dispensary owners they’re not actually enforceable.

4 Likes

The only NDA/ NCA you’ll have to worry about is one from Oregon. Otherwise NV & CA likely won’t enforce. The owners may try to “scare you” but wouldn’t think about spending a few mill trying to get you to stop working.

4 Likes

in cali a non compete is not allowed for a general employee but im not a lawyer, just what I have been told by our Attorney. Partners can be bound by NCNDA.

4 Likes

15/hr is NOT worth my time to sign a nd/nc clause in my employment contract. 15/hr is easily attainable for a burger flipper position at a fast food place.

20 Likes

I was honestly not even going to take the job, but I’ll get experience, I’ll probably be somewhere else when my lease is up in the summer.

2 Likes

Alot depends on who hires you ( the type of company) built a lab back east for someone and they wanted to hire full time but they were using/made a temp agency so they could write off the expenses. So technically since they “could”staff any job, any job would have been a competitor. Is it enforcable, probably not but something to keep in mind. Always helps to have a good lawyer on retainer

2 Likes