Need a Consultant to Help Prevent Oxidation from MMJ D9 and Converted D9

Hey All,

You guys are the best of the best online and I am applying to be a GLG member! I’ve been working with some converted D9 (It’s more like a mix of D9 and D8) as well as some D9 from MMJ Trim and am having a hell of a time preventing the distillate from oxidizing.

I’ve been reading on these threads for days on water washing, magsil, etc and there seems to be 100 different opinions on why this happens and 100 different methods on how to prevent the oxidation. It seems likely that the oxidation is largerly a PH issue but I’m just not a scientist and don’t know.

I know oxidation is more of a problem with the less color in the oil but I do know if you don’t bring your oil back to close to neutral as possible that the oxidation is a nightmare and I nee someone to help me identify what I’m doing wrong and how I can create a replicatable process.

If there is anyone out there that offers consulting and has experience with making a stable water clear to light pale yellow oil from converted D9 and from MMJ derived D9, hit a brother up!

Thanks fam,

Mulls

3 Likes

Most important things to keep in mind before distillation is:
PH is at 7
You cannot have any clays or particulates in your boiling flask.
No air leaks during distillation.

Now preventing oxidation while bottling can be done with a shielding gas like argon or the more common nitrogen.

There are a ton of different things to consider but these are the major ones.

25 Likes

Good one @thesk8nmidget aka spoon man

5 Likes

Totally Agree. How do you ensure the pH is at 7? I’ve been washing with distilled water and just read up on how distilled h20 is traditionally more acidic than neutral. I was thinking maybe use a pH buffer to help keep the water at 7?

1 Like

You ensure the ph of your water going in is a ph of 7. Then test the water coming out to ensure its ph is the same, if its not you need another wash with your 7 ph water.