Linux for Desktop, Server and Appliances (Noobs to Veterans)

Are you considering Linux as an alternative to Microsoft Windows? Do you run Linux and GNU programs on your server, desktop or computer appliances like IOT or Raspberry Pi? This is the thread to discuss it.

I have been running Debian since 1999. It was version 2.1 and apt, the killer install program had just come out. I accidentally wiped my Windows 98 and DOS 6.22 partitions on my beige box, so I was all in. Slackware had a better network driver, but I was lucky that my dialup ISP supported the network stack. It’s been a love story since then. I tend to stick with Openbox distros like Mabox, Crunchbang++ or LXDE for low RAM usage.

Do you use Linux? Do you want to try something other than Microsoft Windows? Let us know here!

15 Likes

When I stop working 100 hour weeks I’m switching my personal computers over to some form of *nix. Haven’t decided which yet.

I’ve got a couple of Ubuntu servers kicking around handling various jobs, and have dabbled with Ubuntu, Slackware, Mint, and probably others I’ve forgotten as desktops.

I’m sick and tired of Windows’ bullshit mandatory updates and unscheduled reboots that keep coming back after every update even if you disable them through group policy, the registry, and similar.

The amount of telemetry and crapware that is part of the base windows OS these days is disgusting. It used to be that you only have to uninstall a ton of shit if you bought a Compaq or some other bargain bin brand - it wasn’t built into the OS.

I know I could install windows LTSC and get around a bunch of that. But… Fuck it.

5 Likes

I operate a hobby Proxmox Server (inspired and assisted setting up by @sidco) For my Plex Media / Jellyfin.
With a couple other small projects underway.

My vms run Debian/Ubuntu/windows but primarily Ubuntu