Is there a test to verify that hemp-derived cannabinoids are actually hemp-derived?

As I understand it, many states require a chain of custody and that there is a paper trail to verify where products are purchased. But, is there a test that can be performed to verify that a “hemp-derived d-9” product is, in fact, hemp-derived?

I’m pretty new to the hemp industry and was asked this the other day and I have absolutely no idea. So, far, the answer I have gotten is “no”. But this forum is my go-to for information unavailable elsewhere. Anybody know?

“Hemp derived” d9 is a scam.

2 Likes

Is it hemp or is it pot
Alas my testing tells me not

Definitive and validated? Probably not

Subjective/Suggestive/decent indicators? Absolutely.

@kcalabs (and others) probably have data up their sleeves that they are fairly confident in

5 Likes

Typically you can tell from the coa. Converted kgs won’t have any minors or if they do its under loq.

1 Like

We can tell based on a few indicators in the testing. Happy to test and check.

10 Likes

Play dumb and think it’s all hemp. Marijuana is fake. Everything is hemp.

3 Likes

D9 from thca flower is still hemp right?

4 Likes

All hemp. All the time. I wish I wasn’t so dumb. I could have been doing this for decades.

5 Likes

@Kingofthekush420 tried to warn us with his screenshots! We didn’t listen :cry:

2 Likes

It’s all hemp, but according to these guys, d9 is the only cannabinoid that needs to be in compliant levels. THCa from hemp is fair game. If you buy anything from them, it will come with a handy letter from their lawyer explaining why the “hemp-derived” diamonds or flower they sell are compliant.

How can this be possible when the statute itself clearly calls out that the D9THC levels are based on the decarboxylation of THCa * 87.5% + the presence of actual D9THC in the dry weighed plant material?