Infusing Terpenes Using an Ultrasonic Bath

I was watching YouTube when I discovered a way to quickly age whiskey using barrel wood chips in a mason jar. The guy placed the mason jar in a warm ultrasonic bath and was able to produce an aged whiskey in under an hour.

I started playing around with our ultrasonic bath and realized that I could place my distillate and terpenes into a capped GL45 media bottle. I could then place that bottle into a lightly warmed ultrasonic bath for a shorter period of time and achieve homogenization at lower temps than needed using the hot plate method.

Has anyone played around with this? Does the ultrasonic vibration have any negative effects on the terpenes?

I’ve noticed that the oil thins out at much lower temps using this method and retains that consistency until after I’ve filled carts which makes the filling process a lot easier.

We have used this tech for small orders and haven’t run into any issues so far. It seems to be doing a great job.

13 Likes

Probably a match made in heaven. I was gonna use that for my next batches.

I’d recommend putting in nitrogen/argon generously into it to replace oxygen. That would be my only tweak.

3 Likes

Does work.

7 Likes

Crazy this sounds super promising, lower temperatures to mix the terpenes would help prevent them from getting burnt or degrading correct just like in extraction? And plus if it mixes faster and your able to fill carts faster it sounds like it boost production times so productivity boost and that is always a winner

2 Likes

Bro, if this works, I can finally stop recommending homogenizers!!!

What volumes have you tried @WestCoastTerpenes?

How long did it take?

Did you heat your solution first, and if so, what temperature?

7 Likes

Why not put a spining magnet below the bath, so u can have stirring with a pill aswell as the ultrasonic transducers. That will do the job

1 Like