Infused Oil Filtration

Hey All,

I recently was thrown into managing the production of retail goods for my company. Most of our retail goods are oil based (MCT, Jojoba, Omega-3, etc.) and are infused with a crude hemp extract. The resulting infusion has a lot of undissolved material (plant particulate) that needs to be filtered out. Previously this has been done with Buchner filtration which takes quite a while especially when we are doing larger volumes. There is also the need for a more refined system that is easy to clean and nearly automated. Therefore, I am looking for a better way to do these filtrations.

Based on what I have read on here bag filters are often used for larger scale refinement. I have a lot of experience with these but my main concern lies in product loss (housing volume). The ways around this seem to be either to follow your infused batch with non-infused oil to push it through, push a gas volume to clear the system (pump or tank). I can’t push extra oil through as this would dilute the batch and disrupt potency, so I am left with pushing nitrogen though the system (or sourcing a specialty pump).

Other recommendations have been lenticular filters and filter presses. The obvious downside to the filter press is the cost. The downside to lenticular filters is the fact I cannot reuse filter media. Since this is a kitchen we are not running the same product everyday so we will need to replace filter media between batches.

Based on this I sourced some equipment and tried to build out a small scale inline filtering solution that would be relatively cheap to run. I am a chemist, not an engineer, so I would love some feedback from the community experts.

Our typical runs are anywhere from 1-25 gallons so nothing incredibly large. The refinement level I need is only ~10micron, and I probably will not get the 1 micron bag filter at the end.