How we crush fresh frozen- major upgrade

Hello,
I’ve been lurking for a while, but this is the first time I’ve had something worthy of posting. I am a lab tech in a hydrocarbon lab that specializes in fresh frozen. Since our upgrades, our throughput has gone up significantly to between 75-120lbs a day. Before, we were using mallets to crush vaccum bags of -90 c cryo’d product. The increased volume sent us looking for a solution, and this is what we came up with. I haven’t seen this mentioned here before, so I am sharing. It’s essentially a pneumatic rubber mallet:
Bench Sand Rammer-full speed
Bench Sand Rammer- Slow Mo

This is a chicago pneumatic “bench sand rammer” (model#CHP-CP0200B18) used in metal foundries to ram sand molds. Price is about $500 for the tool and accessories. It comes with a small rubber striking foot, about 2 inches, and we added an old mallet head for increased surface area.

Pros:

1. a lot less physically strenuous.
  2. Much faster, meaning we can crush more at once and keep it out of the freezers for less time. This helps us because we are stretching out cryo capacities to the max right now.
  3. Overall, you can get a better crush and consistency due to not being fatigued.

Cons:

1. This tool is air hungry, and you’ll need a significant compressor. I would consider how the draw would affect anything in the booth if they were being used simultaneously.
  2. You have to play with the air pressure to find the sweet spot. Too high, and you’ll start to rip bags.
  3. The rapid striking seems to cause a little more pressure/friction heat, and you have to be mindful of minor thawing/product wetting and sticking to the bag.
  4. This has safety concerns like any powertool. Watch your fingers and point it away from you when you set it down. To quote my coworker, “Oh, boy! You almost thumped your jewels.”