Hot Hemp

I often see lot of discussions about “hot hemp” and as a farmer I have thought a lot about this. I have read a lot of different opinions and discussions on the topic, but here is one that I have come to that I be curious to hear others thoughts on.
People like to share COAs of their flower and take credit for the high cbd content and ignore the total T. Of course state to state varies on this rule, and I can only speak to California, but total THC maters here wrt passing compliance testing to allow for harvest to proceed.
However (begin argument) at least in the state of California, those “flower COAs” don’t mean shit, from a legal standpoint. In the state of California, there are clear rules and regulations pertaining hemp sampling to determine if said plants are in fact below the threshold of 0.3 total thc and thus certified as hemp. Those rules state who can take a sample (only registered lab or county official), who must be present (grower), when sampling is done (days before harvest), location, numbers of plants, the amount of material that much be collected and from where on the plant, etc, etc. the process is specific and clearly defined in the law. That compliance test results in a COA that clearly states “Passed (or failed) as California Hemp.”
My argument here is, as long as you can trace flower or bio to your certified hemp compliance testing/COA, there is no court of law that would ever accept any sampling of plant material after the fact, that didn’t follow the sampling procedures as stated in the law, and that would attempt to invalidate an already certified COA of compliance.
You can test the flower to get an idea of cbd concentrations and ratios and as a farmer you do that to know when to request sampling, but at the end of the day, the COA that matters to determine hot or not, is the county/state compliance COA.

Thoughts?

1 Like

Is hot hemp this same as low thc cannabis? Seems like this was a name to allow shitty cannabis as hemp.