Hemp Derived D8 Disty

Is D9 free, hemp derived, D8 legal in the same sense as CBD?

• Yes
  • No

0 voters

Also, what’s the market look like for this? Produced in an ODA certified hemp lab BTW.

6 Likes

As far as the ODA is concerned, it is. And my reading of the legislation is the same as theirs. I would still be cautious about shipping it though there’s probably someone itching to make a test case out of it

3 Likes

id be interested for sure. If you have any intention on selling a kilo please let me know

2 Likes

My understanding (or lack thereof, I’m not a lawyer), is that D8 falls into a bit of a legal grey area. It’s NOT D9 which is explicitly controlled under federal law and the recent hemp bills; however, it is an isomer (same chemical formula, but different bonds) of D9 and according to the DEA’s own website:

"These lists describes the basic or parent chemical and do not necessarily describe the salts, isomers and salts of isomers, esters, ethers and derivatives which may also be classified as controlled substances. These lists are intended as general references and are not comprehensive listings of all controlled substances.

Please note that a substance need not be listed as a controlled substance to be treated as a Schedule I substance for criminal prosecution. A controlled substance analogue is a substance which is intended for human consumption and is structurally or pharmacologically substantially similar to or is represented as being similar to a Schedule I or Schedule II substance and is not an approved medication in the United States."

There may be a recent clarification I’m unaware of, but the above makes it sound as if the Feds could prosecute and control D8 the same as D9 if they wanted under current law.

4 Likes

@mcpikeig

Heres the definition of hemp from the farm bill

Notice the word isomer is highlighted?

Any isomer from legal hemp is legal as long as its under. 3% d9

Also the CSA only applies to marijuana extracts

2 Likes