getting a promotion. How much should I ask for?

Hi guys!

So I am a recent graduate with a biochemistry degree. I live in Ohio which has a brand new medical market so I jumped at the opportunity to get into this field as I am a consumer myself and wanted a job where I would be excited to go to work everyday. I am just over 4 months into my company and have been doing everything I can to help the company(currently still a startup which has selling products for only about two months). So far I have been optimizing everything I can and have helped get our CO2 extraction yields upped from 10-12% to 16-19%. I have helped increased our winterized crude THC % from an average of 60% to around 75-80%. I have also set up our entire refinement system with no training and got the distillation up and running and have been achieving 90%+ distillate on just 2 passes.

I am currently making 18$/Hr and working on average 5-10 hours of overtime each week. I was recently asked if I would be interested for a promotion to formulation manager but I have no clue how much money to ask for as it seems to be a bit of a niche position. I was told by my mentor that with my background and the numbers I have been increasing that when my review came I should be asking for somewhere in the 50-55K a year salary range but that was before I was asked If I would be interested in the promotion. So now I am stuck wondering how much I should ask for because I donā€™t want to give an unreasonably high number but I donā€™t want to low ball myself because I am putting in an incredible amount of work to help the company succeed.

Any thoughts, suggestions, or opinions on this matter would be greatly appreciated!

2 Likes

what is your time worth? I wouldnt take anything less than 60k with bonus or stock options, 100k shouldnt be too unrealistic for what it sounds like you would be doing for them. Just be sure to get a good contract with severance options incase they self destruct themselves.

10 Likes