FECO help for at home

New user and new to the industry. I’m looking to make feco at home. I’m a disabled veteran and would prefer to learn to make it properly. Not looking to spend more than $1,000. Is this even feasible in that price range?

5 Likes

Absolutely. Get your self some 190 proof ethanol for your extraction solvent, Two 5 gallon buckets, one for your extraction vessel one for pouring into when you filter out the biomass. An easy starting point for good saturation will be 1 gallon of ethanol to one pound of biomass or About 8.5mL of ethanol per gram of biomass. Place your biomass in the ethanol make sure it’s completely saturated and let rest for 15 minutes. Poor the solution through cheese cloth to quickly filter out any biomass particles and use the cheese cloth to ring the material out as best you can. Now to decarboxylate your oil as well as boil off the ethanol I’ve found a crock pot set to low/med, depending on the model, will slowly boil off your ethanol and decarb your remaining oil very effectively. You can use a non contact thermometer to verify temps, Ethanol boils around 173F, keep that in mind when boiling off your ethanol. A good decarb temp after you’ve got your solution reduced down to a black oil will be around 225F. You will know decarb has finished when all bubbles have stopped and you’re looking at a pool of pristine black feco oil. Be very careful about the fumes generated while boiling off the ethanol as they will be VERY flammable. I strongly recommend doing this step outside on a porch, back yard etc…

Use a silicone paddle to scrape out the crock pot interior and gather your oil into a mason jar.

Hope this helps.

Items Required:

Everclear
2 5 gallon buckets
crock pot
cheese cloth
non contact thermometer (IR thermometer)

12 Likes

Also, search in the top right… “bucket tech” theres a lot of info around this site concerning different methods people use.

4 Likes

Bucket tek should get you most of the way there.