Farmer just getting into extraction please help

Just a quick hello love this forum BN lurking n learning for a month or so thanks to everyone in advance .So the situation is we have roughly 35!lbs of trim a month I need to do something with ,a friend has a Waters CO2 sfe system that’s 3 yrs old hes trying to sell me for 15000 it’s complete and nice . I know very little about the CO2 have run hydrocarbon setups before but minimal experience as far as chemistry goes. Would it be more efficient to run CO2 or hydro? As far as start up goes would it be cheaper to buy the waters system or a 5lb nice hydrocarbon setup . I’ve heard the CO2 puts out a tastier product but I have no experience n is why I’m asking . Thank u

1 Like

Is the trim you’re working with relatively fresh? If 15k is the budget, I can’t think of a reason to go CO2 instead of setting up for hydrocarbon. Might even make more sense to get set up for rosin for a third of that number lol

4 Likes

What are you looking to make? I run two sfe. The terps are tasty once you dial in the machines. CO2 is not as popular for extractions these days since you can mostly only make full spectrum vape carts. You can try and make concentrates but takes much more effort on a waters. 15k is also just the beginning of the costs. You need rotovap, vac oven, cryo fridge, funnels… In the end your product comes out tasty but the customer base is lacking these days.

1 Like

Rosin? Do u mean something like nugsmasher iq thingies ?? I’ve got oneif that’s what u are talking about,it’s just to slow . The trim can b either but I don’t have access to lab freezers . My budget is 21000 for equipment, I know not àlot, but trying to make something outa nothing . I’m wanting to grow as I learn more, but I wanna also not go broke ,my wife would be pissed . If ur thinking hydrocarbon what system would u recommend ??