DIY Cat/Pet Tincture Recipe Questions

I’m trying to make a simple tincture for my cat who has seizures. Based off some research it seems hemp seed oil would be a good safe base to mix with. I mainly have 2 questions.

1. Would a homogenizer be necessary to blend some isolate or distillate into the hemp seed oil?
  2. Anyone have experience with CBD and cats if distillate is more effective than isolate? Was gonna go with broader spectrum distillate over isolate but thinking about it the isolate would probably be easier to blend

Thanks in advance

2 Likes

Nothing to add, but just wishing the kitty and you best of luck!

2 Likes

@Rowan

1 Like

Best of luck to your cat.

You might be working with small dosages for your kitty. I read cbd 3mg/kg of cat/ day* at treatment level dosage for epilepsy/seizures. But I’m not a doctor.

I would say you’d want solution as homogeneous as possible for consistency. You might be able to simply apply slight heat and emulsion blend isolate/spectrum into careier oil.

Hope this helps at all.

P.s. A photo of the cat might help us understand what were dealing with.

*The #1 Rated CBD Oil for Cats - 100% Organic Full Spectrum Hemp Oil – Innovet Pet
Calculator for dosage
CBD Dosage Calculator for Dogs & Cats – Innovet Pet

2 Likes

In my experience, the cat is the most difficult factor in application of CBD here. Do you want your cat to willingly take the tincture, or is force acceptable?

You can lead a cat to CBD tincture, but you cannot make em dose. Or you can…and you get the ball of claws and fur…in my personal experience.

4 Likes

either distillate or isolate will blend fine. especially with a little heat. You won’t need a homogenizer, but it obviously helps.

hempseed oil would be safe, but I would be willing to bet your cat will not like that or willingly take it.
Good ol’ MCt oil is safe for them as well, and won’t taste as bad.