Critique my mason jar diamond SOP

Hello Hive mind. I am new to the game and have adopted a lab. I’ve been reading on here for weeks and posted a few times. I am going to post my current understanding of making diamonds in jars with the objective of ~big~ ish diamonds.

Lets start with what I’m using:
ETS MEP 70 BHO setup with 70/30 But/Prop mix
1L mason jars
AI vacuum oven
CRC is some micron filters, Activated Alumina, T5, and more micron filters

“SOP”

Start by running solvent over socks at -20C and collect into collection vessel at 40F.
Run multiple socks into collection column and collection column. Once all material is ran we cut the pump when there is still some pressure in the column and the extract is still “pretty wet”

Pour into jars until jar is half or 3/4 full and cap.

Burp after a few minutes

Let sit overnight in c1d1 room overnight and burp in morning

Let sit for 3 weeks in c1d1 (inside a dark Styrofoam chest) room and burp one or two more times total.

Once diamonds have formed I will separate the terp sauce from the diamonds by pouring off into a clean jar or pan, and then purge that sauce in a vac over at 90F and -30 psi.

Once the diamonds are “mined” from the jars wall and bottom we will also purge those at -30psi and 90F.

That’s it… that’s the while SOP…

I am considering buying a new vac oven to control my temps better and easier hit that metastable zone. What suggestions do you have for changing this process? What mistakes am I making? Is it possible to avoid medusa stones without using pentane? Are ovens safe for this use?

I’ve been told if I use clean enough gas I can avoid medusa and still only use my but/prop mix.

I’ve also been told to mark my starting line on my jars so I can add butane back in (which I’ve never done)

Thanks in advance, please be kind <3

3 Likes