Commercial trash compactor is getting transformed to a rosin press

So I have a large trash compactor and I am in the process of converting it to a large rosin press and I am asking for input from the community to help me design it in the best possible way. The machine is a scratch and dent new model so it had never actually smashed trash. Please refrain from negativity about how its not the best way to extract because we have a large cls system and are in the process of adding a decent sized ethanol system as well. This is an addition to our setup in hopes that we can provide solventless as an option as it is getting popular. My first idea is to get some plates machined for this unit with heating elements in each plate and then create a base for the top plates to press into. I have zero experience with rosin presses, but I have been researching and following many different builds and ideas. I am thinking of using aluminum plates but I am not 100% sure if they are better than ss. Budget is not a real big issue but I am not looking to spend an arm and a leg. Thank you in advance to anyone who has some positive input.

OVERALL DIMENSIONS
Height 76.5″
Width 28.75″
Depth 29.25″
Weight 669 lb.
LOADING DOOR
Height 18.5″
Width 24″
COMPACTION RATIO 20:1
COMPACTED WASTE CUBE
Height 18″
Width 23.75″
Depth 224″
Weight 70-150 lb.
COMPACTION
Force (lbs) 12,272
Electrohydraulic Compaction
ELECTRICAL
Standard 115 volt

15 amp

Dedicated 50-60 Hertz

1 Phase|

5 Likes

Plates are too big no?

Why not just buy a used hydraulic press like 100ton one

5 Likes

I have had this unit sitting in a barn and we recently brought it down to our facility to convert. I would like to try to reuse this unit before going the route of starting fresh. Also I am open to making the plates smaller than the plate that is currently installed, however I think t would be nice to be able to process larger amounts at a time.

2 Likes