Cloudy oil / white particulate BHO extraction

Hey all,

I’m a fairly novice extractor (been running CLS for about 6 months) but have had great mentors and a strong background in engineering. Our team has been running in-house product successfully, making live resin diamonds and all that fun stuff. Normally our product comes out beautiful and clear.

The last month, something has changed from our grow team and our fresh frozen material runs are coming out very cloudy. We run pure n-butane or sometimes 70/30 at -60 to -70F, so our process stays at approximately -40. Soak for 5-10 min or so, and pass through a 10u filter. We normally have pristine, crystal clear oil. Now even with the filter, our product is super cloudy.

Jar on left: current cloudy runs
Jar on right: run of material sourced outside of our facility

It almost seems like we have a physical contaminant that filters out, but we can’t be 100% sure since our attempts at using 2u filter or smaller are hit or miss. We have taken the cloudy oil, mixed it with distilled water, and allowed it to settle to form 3 distinct layers, cloudy oil on top, white particulate in middle, and mostly clear water/slightly cloudy water on bottom.

The sample passes the emulsion test and based on our operating temps-I don’t think it could be a lipid.

If we run material from a different source-it comes out crystal clear, which confuses the heck out of me. Any chance it could be water? We dehydrate our solvent with a molecular sieve but who knows how effective our regeneration might be. But that is our next step to pull all the beads out and run in the oven overnight.

Anyone have any ideas what it could be?!

1 Like

NurdRage has a youtube video on how to measure the effectiveness or your molecular sieves thru the amount of heat they give off. at least then u could know if its water. I know some of the terpenes specifically a-pinene make a white opaque mixture when mixed with water.

4 Likes