Chiller Size Recommendation

Hey everyone, I recently picked up a new system and have seen conflicting opinions regarding chiller size. Below are the specs of anything jacketed, it would be greatly appreciated if you guys could provide some insight!
4x 4x48in Jacketed Material Columns
14x40in Double Jacketed Recovery
14x24in jacketed collection w/ 6x10in jacketed splatter platter

This is an active recovery system, my plans were to get a 45 litre polyscience chiller but at this point I’m not sure that it would be adequate. Any feedback is appreciated

What temperature are you looking to maintain and how quickly do you want it to be able to get to the desired temp?

Are you looking to mechanically cool your heat exchanger as well?

2 Likes

@HeadyHempFlower
~ -25c is the target temp, we have a pretty large -80c freezer that I planned on prechilling the solvent (and material if fresh) in and additionally using an injection coil. I’m very new to using chillers/heaters and active recovery so I’m not sure what you mean when referencing a heat exchanger. As for time to get to the temp, preferably a reasonable amount of time? As stated I’m not that experience with chillers :sweat_smile: Thank you for taking the time to respond man, I appreciate it

The injection coil is what i was referring to as the heat exchanger.
Are you looking to chill your solvent tank as well?

I would put a chiller on your solvent tank and another to chill your columns and injection coil.

The Julabo FP-90 would be a great fit, and we have a few in overstock that we can cut you a deal on.

@midsfactory what chillers are you using?

i use the china DSLB chillers and a home made portable ac chiller

DSLB 80/30 pretty standard

Ohh, we are using dry ice and alcohol for the injection coil. Really not trying to spend 40k on a chiller, temps that low are unnecessary to me currently. Maybe it would make sense when switching to passive in the future but for now I do not see the point.