Cartridges coming out cloudy

Hi I am new to making carts. I am trying to make some of these pod style cartridges and my mixture keeps coming out cloudy. I am currently mixing hemp derived Terps at 7%. Any suggestions for making my mixture come out clear every time

Hey bud @Extract_wizard If you’re really looking to garner results from your post, share your method and we’ll see if we can help from there. there’s about 150,000 variables that can contribute to a cloudy cart. I Always love it when people post I have a problem… … blah. It helps to know what your working ya feel me?

1 Like

Dewax/ no dewax?

1 Like

Oh yeah, I’m working with some decent distillate, yes it’s been dewaxed. I’ve had a batch come out quite clear and a nice yellow color already so I dont think it’s the distillate I’m using, I think it’s something I’m doing. Mixing it too much perhaps? Should I be leaving it sit for a few hours after mixing my Terps? Maybe that will clear it up?

1 Like

Hey bud, again post your method. The forum is willing to help but until you give your process you’re asking us to throw darts at a wall blindfolded, backwards, drunk!

2 Likes

My method is heating my distillate to about 140f. Adding 7% terps and mixing with a cordless drill. Once they seem throughly mixed I draw them up into my fill gun and fill into the carts. That’s about it. Should I be letting them sit overnight, will that help it clear up

Normally I’d question what’s in the terpenes but with hemp derived that wouldn’t be likely. Sounds like moisture. Are you cleaning anything with water? If there is a little bit of water or ethanol in your beaker/syringe then this can happen

is a rubber plunger coming in contact with heat or terpenes at any point? Are you mixing the tail end of some distillate that was stored in a syringe with a rubber plunger? This is the other time you see cloudiness

4 Likes

Where did you source you terps from? Do yourself a favor and get one of these.