Capna Systems Ares Issue

Hey guys.

So, I have a Capna Ares falling film evaporator. I know from searching/reading here that they aren’t the most well liked systems. We got it for a good price so it works for what we need currently but, I am having an issue. Just a heads up I’m pretty new to extraction. I’ve ran a distiller unit and roto vapes for 2 years but thats about it so I’m still learning everything… I don’t know if it’s an Ares issue or an issue that happens with falling films in general.

The system seems to run fine for the most part but, the recovered ethanol comes out dark. We have tried changing the system parameters and running a lower vacuum to see if that would help at all and its a little lighter than when we started but, still looks like crude is coming through. So far Ive just been running things twice through the Ares and then in roto vapes to recover clean ethanol but it’s taking up production time doing all that.

Anyone have any ideas of what could be wrong? Or is this just something that happens with falling films?

I appreciate any help on this thanks!

Dark as in crude colored or like off yellow/green?

Curde colored. After the second run through the Ares it’s more like a light yellow.

Definitely NOT something that happens with FFE, can you show some pics of the unit? We manufacture FFE’s here at our company and if you want to email any pics I’d be happy to try and help.
allen@subzeroscientific.com

I used one of these new once. You can only run about 15 gallons per hour. Granted we were trying to not decarb for CBGA. If we went much faster than that we had it backfill with ethanol and occasionally bump. flash evap and splash crude/etho up through the vapor path. Either that or you may have vapors moving so fast that its actually carrying the etho mixture with it where it pours onto the plate, thats my guess.