Building Out Commercial Extraction Lab

Hello Everyone,

I have been extracting and distilling since 2015. I came up using two - 4lbs closed loop systems to blast and started with a 1L short path from Salem Labs(uggh I know) and moved to a 10L from AI.

I have used my experience(it falls short from a lot of users on here) to secure a position and equity in Canada with a licensed producer and have been tasked to build out a commercial lab that will house our extractions division.

I have never used commercial equipment before and would like some guidance if possible. Health Canada mandate only will allow us to produce distillate(that will be diluted for ‘cannabis oil’,vapes and edibles) for now and I wanted to know what my best route would be.

I just want to say that when all cylinders are firing I would like to encompass all 3(co2,hydrocarbon,ethanol) extraction methods but initially I’m looking to mass produce distillate in the fastest and most economical(not cheaping out on equipment but making sure the process is streamlined and efficient) as possible. Price tag is essentially on me but initially looking for something that can handle and produce large volumes of crude and distillate. I would also like to extract terps but I don’t know if that’s asking for too much as this initial stage.

I was originally thinking about going co2 and then using a wiped film system as both are continuous flow if Im not mistaken. Why I hesitate is because I have read that supercritical co2 will pick up more terps than anything else. Is that true? Can I set a co2 system to not run at supercritical temps and or pressure and efficiently and effectively extract cannabinoids.