Blinger Disty

So, I’m a total newb on the distillate game. Just started running a 12L LS full bore with a welch crv pro 8. I am definitely stoked on the performance of the system, but the distillate itself is very red, somewhat murky, and smells horrid. As far as filtering and decarbing the crude (bho), we’re doing a room temp filtration then winterizing in a chest freezer that gets the solution down to -25c for a couple days, filtering through a Hochstrom with an 8 mic paper one time, then carbon scrubbing, then decarbing on a stir bar plate for 2-3 hours at 100-140c.

On the Spd, the pump is able to pull down to almost 10 microns before I open up the system. once I start pulling vac on the system the sensor on the back end of the dewar cold trap down at the pump never reads that low again. the vac levels are ranging between 100-400 mic at any point in the run. during the volatiles and heads fraction the pressure is a few hundred, once we start pulling main body the pressure gets down to 100 mic or below, which makes me feel that there aren’t any leaks, but there seems to be volatiles getting passed the cold trap because my vac level at the pump is very similar to the entire system’s vac levels throughout the entire run.

My concerns and questions are mostly about the smell and color of the end product. We haven’t even tried second pass yet, but was hoping for some input on getting a nice colored, non smelly first pass. any info is much appreciated!

1 Like

The murkiness probably comes from lipids distilling over, try using methanol as the solvent when winterizing and instead of placing the solution in your freezer place the solution inside a cooler with some ghetto cryofluid (ethanol and dry ice) to chill it.

You can remove a significant portion of the oils (lipids) as well as all the waxes by leaving the solution for 1 hour and then filtering.

6 Likes