Azulene, Acidic Distillation, The Mystery Blue

Hello! I frequent the Future 4200 forums in search of answers that often come up in my work. I am a laboratory tech in an extraction lab associated with a dispensary. We do extraction with different solvents different ways and my responsibilities involve much of the vacuum distillation used to procure high concentration delta 9 distillate.

Some time ago we produced a less than satisfactory green shatter. In the effort not to let the material go to waste we made several attempts to clean it up, get rid of the funky color and associated smell. Try as we might, no effort to remove both the color and the smell was successful and the wack shatter was consigned to distillation to try and capture the cannabinoids away from whatever contaminant was producing such unappealing properties.

That distillation run was not only one of the highest purity distillations the company has achieved but also primarily delta 8 thc (99.2% total cannabinoids, 86.5% delta 8, 11.3% delta 9). Now the name of the game has been to reobtain and refine the SOP for consistency and in these trials a peculiar trend has arisen. When delta 8 was recovered during distillation the heads leading up to the 150+ vapor temp range always contained a strikingly blue fraction. When delta 8 was not present (or present only in a tiny concentration, say <8% total) the blue heads were notably absent. Some of the material used for positive runs was already old, darkened distillate itself (routinely tested above 92% d9 with terps already removed) so the likelihood of a blue terpene existing there in concentration is slim.