What causes stir bars to stop working?

Stir bars seem to have a set lifetime- I have no idea why this would be the case-

What is the mechanism that causes a PTFE Coates magnetic stir bar to just lose responsiveness?

Inb4 @spdking says the word “China”

2 Likes

Temperature basically.

10 Likes

I’m no professional in this subject, in my opinion though I think it’s the Heat after a period of time. I feel like it gets demagnetized after a while.

1 Like
7 Likes

This explains it pretty well. And I know you like to read @Rowan

4 Likes

Well said.

Under 200c but over 150c it’s about 100+ uses.

Over 200c it’s about under 100.

And it’s based on time not runs really. There are better pills. We source a brand with a type that tends to last a bit longer.

Everytime you use the stir bar you use it at a higher temperature, as well as create a demagnetizing field. Basically rotating two polar field against each other to create the physical spin.

I used to use magnets in mechanical modified vaporizers I made. I found that with neodymium magnets I could get about 25,000ish button presses at 4.7v and roughly 80watts. The heat on the magnets was neglible in their positions, i assume it must have been the charged current. Very similar to how a demagnetizing field changes the alignment of atoms.

5 Likes

curie temperature

magnets don’t like heat, you could try samarium cobalt.

7 Likes

Maybe terpenes… Oh wait PTFE… Probably heat then

2 Likes

So is putting weak stir bars in the cryo freezer gonna recharge them?

No. You need to remagnetize it with a charge plate

5 Likes

Fix it…

http://www.sciencemadness.org/talk/viewthread.php?tid=156611

6 Likes

Science madness is so awesome!!

2 Likes